Last night, Anthony Calvillo of the Montreal Alouettes reached and surpassed 70,000 career passing yards during his team’s home win over the Edmonton Eskimos.

Leading up to the game, all people could talk about was how Calvillo was about to become the “fourth passer in pro football history” to reach that plateau, following Damon Allen, Brett Favre and Warren Moon.

I’m sorry, but comparing Calvillo & Allen to Favre & Moon, is lame, pointless, unrealistic, and trivializes Canadian football.

By calling Allen the “top passer in pro footballhistory” and talking about how

And Bobby Hull is the top scorer in WHA/NHL history...

Calvillo is climbing the ranks of “pro football history, the implication is that being the best in the history of the CFL isn’t good enough.

A tale of two leagues
I’m so tired of people saying the CFL is amateur or the NFL is boring and getting into that ridiculous back-and-forth about which league is better. Why are people so small-minded and insecure about their own likes/dislikes and beliefs that they feel the only way to validate themselves is by ripping what other people love?

I thoroughly enjoy both leagues. I’m a little more passionate about the CFL for many reasons – chiefly that the CFL is in my city and is part of my country. The NFL? I enjoy watching, but I don’t really care who wins.

I’ve kind of been a 49ers fan since I was a kid, but one of my closest friends works for the Jets, so I cheer for them now… either way, my relative indifference to the NFL isn’t a consequence  of my love for the Canadian league.

One thing has absolutely nothing to do with the other.

100 yard apples vs 110 yard oranges
Also, the stats simply make no sense in comparison… In Canada, the per-game milestone is 300 yards passing; in the US, anything over 200 yards in considered a solid performance. In the CFL, it’s common for great pivots to pass for 4,000-5,000 yards in a season – AC once had over 6,000! In the NFL, a few 4,000-yard seasons will probably get you a bust in Canton. 70,000 yards in the NFL is like 90,000 in the CFL.

The CFL is pass-first, the NFL is run-first. They are practically two different games with completely different strategies.

Calvillo is great – Period.
I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know Anthony Calvillo a little better than most fans because I worked for the Als for almost eight years and I have a 2009 Grey Cup ring, largely due to his excellence in that game.

I’ve dealt with him only on a professional level, so I won’t pretend we’re friends, but I’ve always had a ton of respect for him and he always treated me well when I was shuffling him from interview to interview, and so on.

The bottom line is that Anthony Calvillo is a Montreal and Canadian sports hero – where that ranks vs. the National Football League’s all-time greats is not only completely irrelevant to me, it’s an utterly stupid and ignorant comparison.

It’s the kind of thing PR hacks come up with when trying to bolster their employer, or networks talk about when trying to upgrade the perception of the CFL product.

Well, they don’t need to. The CFL is an amazing football league and knowing that our guy is about to become tops in the history of our league is more than good enough for me.

