With a good night’s sleep behind me and some time to think about last night’s leaders’ debate, I’ve come away with an even stronger feeling that the Coalition Avenir Quebec will be getting my vote on Sept. 4.

Here are some of my takeaways from last night:

– I sincerely dislike her party and I believe her co-leader Amir Khadir is has anti-semitic leanings, but Francoise David was very impressive last night. I’ll just qualify that I’m not accusing Amir Khadir of being an anti-semite – I believe he’s an anti-semite. I have to qualify that because, in the great tradition of cowards, a few of his supporters have tweeted that they hope I get sued for defamation. That speaks a lot about Quebec Solidaire, in my opinion. But that’s neither here nor there – David held her own last night and at times looked like the “adult” in the group while the other three leaders bickered.

– I think if David were the leader of the PQ that the PQ would be a much more formidable party. Pauline Marois comes across as a high school bully that has a bad home life and gets detention a lot, while David presents herself as well-informed and well-educated on the subjects on which she speaks. I disagree almost 100 per cent with everything she says, but she could be a powerful leader.

– I’ve always had a soft spot for Jean Charest and continue to like him after watching his performance last night. He sticks to his guns and comes across as a leader, even when his guns may be aimed at the wrong place. If I do vote CAQ instead of PLQ this election, it has little to do with Charest and more to do with the fact that I think Quebec needs a refresh at the top and the CAQ and Francois Legault may be just what we need.

– Any fondness for Charest aside, I am not impressed by the fear-mongering approach anymore. Tell people why they should for FOR your party, Mr. Charest, not why people should vote AGAINST the others.

– Legault seemed nervous and uncomfortable at times, but I don’t think that’s a reason to not vote for him. He looked like a rookie leader in his first debate, but made some very good points and he strikes me as someone who could well represent Quebec within the Canadian context – despite his past as a separatist. I think he’s over it from a management standpoint and the guy is a businessman first and foremost. If that’s the case, then it’s not about convictions, it’s about good management and I think that’s what he would bring to the table.

– Finally, Pauline Marois and her party are vile people and I wish them nothing but the worst in their political lives. Simply vile people.

