Canadian Olympic hero Clara Hughes is taking her mental health campaign on a national bike tour.

Hughes, who battled depression during her competitive career, is the national ambassador for Bell Let’s Talk, an initiative launched in 2010 to help lift the stigma around mental illness.

I can think of a million athletes kids have grown up worshiping over the years: Michael Jordan, Patrick Roy, Barry Bonds, Brett Favre, etc. and so on. But who is a better role model than someone like Hughes? She participated in multiple Summer and Winter Olympics, wore our colours with pride, and now spends her time promoting mental health (a huge issue that is often overlooked) and working for other great causes.

Hughes has her flaws, I’m sure, but if I can choose a famous athlete for my daughter to look up to, I can’t think of a better example than her.

Photo from www.cbc.ca
Photo from http://www.cbc.ca
