Quebec is not going to separate from Canada. It’s just not going to happen.

Despite making that statement with the utmost confidence, I will openly acknowledge that there are people who genuinely wish for Quebec to be a country in the most open and honest of ways. I disagree with them, of course, but when someone tells me they wish Quebec to be independent from Canada because “it’s what I feel in my heart”, there’s no disputing the legitimacy of their statement. Who am I to tell them their feeling is wrong, even if I don’t feel the same way?

But the way the sovereignty movement, led by the PQ, has gone about trying to achieve its goal has been duplicitous at best and that’s a big part of the reason it has failed. Twice.

By hiding the true consequences of separation into the soft terminology of “sovereignty” and by asking complex, confusing and sneaky referendum questions, the PQ and its ilk have tried to trick Quebecers into creating a country.

Now, while I think Mario Beaulieu’s approach as leader of the Bloc Québécois is virtually guaranteed to wipe the BQ off the map, I have a certain respect for his openness. All he wants to talk about is separation, separation and separation. No hiding in the tall grass for this guy.

Similarly, Bernard Drainville, in his fresh pitch to become leader of the PQ has the same open intentions.

From The Gazette: Bernard Drainville considers ex-PQ leader Pauline Marois’s old job

The first thing to go is the word sovereignty.

“For my part, I prefer the term independence to sovereignty,” Drainville writes.

“For one thing, the word independence is a more current concept in our day. Independence is the opposite of dependence. It signifies the freedom to make our own choices and fully assume the responsibilities which go with them.”

Perhaps the best part is what Drainville says he would use as a referendum question.

From Drainville’s blog: 

La question fondamentale qui devrait, selon moi, fonder toute notre action jusqu’à l’atteinte de notre objectif est donc celle-ci : Le Québec doit-il demeurer une province du Canada ou devenir un pays indépendant?

Despite the fact that sovereignty, separation, or whatever you want to call it has been rejected overwhelmingly by Quebecers in two referendums and the parties that represent that idea, the BQ and PQ have been decimated in recent elections, at least we know the future of this antiquated movement is led by people who aren’t trying to trick Quebecers into a false idea of safety.

 

Pic from a Gazette story I can't find the link to at the moment. Not my own.
Pic from a Gazette story I can’t find the link to at the moment. Not my own.
