A quick “Coles Notes”-style version: Like most all religions, Judaism has more than a few sects. Generally speaking, you’ll hear about Orthodox, Conservative and Reform – I won’t go into details here, but Wikipedia covers it all well. Over the last decade, my family, while more “traditional” than religious, has become close to the Chabad movement.

My take on Chabad is that it’s all the traditional aspects of the Orthodox version of Judaism I was raised in, but with a much more open, warm, and welcoming spirit than any other sect of Judaism I’ve ever experienced.

The article below (click on the image for full size) was published in this week’s Free Press. I wholeheartedly believe this synagogue is just what NDG’s Jewish community needs and I will be attending with my family at some point during the coming High Holidays.

ChabadNDG

