If I were voting for the Lou Marsh Trophy for Canada’s top athlete, my pick for the 2014 winner would be a no-brainer. Without an ounce of hesitation, the choice should be tennis star Eugenie Bouchard.

Not only did Bouchard have a breakout year, making the Wimbledon final and becoming Canada’s first-ever Top 10 tennis player. she became a hero to millions of Canadian women and men.

To women and girls across the nation, Bouchard showed that Canadians can accomplish anything. I believe her Wimbledon final appearance to be the second-greatest moment in Canadian individual sports history, surpassed only by golfer Mike Weir winning the Master’s Tournament in 2003. Had Bouchard won Wimbledon, I’d easily rank that as the top moment of all time.

I watched that final with my 3-year-old daughter, and while she didn’t understand the significance given her age, I wanted her to see this great example of female success in sport.

People often talk about how women are second-class citizens in sports because the multi-millions go to men in the Big 4 while women leagues struggle for an audience. I fully acknowledge there is a long, long way to go on the team sports front, but Bouchard is proof that women can shine brightest on the biggest stage on Earth.

That’s why I believe she should be the 2014 Lou Marsh Trophy winner. I hope the voters feel the same.

Photo from: http://www.wtatennis.com/photos/article/4309736/title/gallery-bouchards-special-season
Photo from: http://www.wtatennis.com/photos/article/4309736/title/gallery-bouchards-special-season
